Friday, September 20, 2013 (6pm)

Horace Mann Spirit of Service Awards Dinner

Location: Keene Country Club

Three  individuals will receive the 2013 Horace Mann Spirit of Service awards.
Keynote speaker: Dr. Stephen Jones, AUNE President.
Proceeds benefit the Endowed Scholarship Fund.

Citizen’s Award 
Sylvia McBeth, former vice president of marketing, planning, and community relations for the Cheshire Medical Center/Dartmouth-Hitchcock Keene (CMC/DHK), Keene, New Hampshire; statewide leader; and incoming chair of the board of trustees for CMC/DHK.  Sylvia has served broadly in the New Hampshire community and is also on the Board of the Savings Bank of Walpole.

Staff/Faculty Award
Dr. Beth Kaplin, core faculty member in AUNE’s Department of Environmental Studies and director for the Center for Tropical Ecology and Conservation at AUNE. An internationally known scholar, Beth founded the Regional Network for Conservation Educators in the Albertine Rift and is helping to create an educational system for conservation biologists in Africa, including an MS program at the National University of Rwanda.

Alumni Award
Bhavani Jaroff, MEd ’01, owner of iEatGreen, an educational organization based in New York City. Bhavani founded the first natural foods catering company in the city and, for the last 25 years, has partnered with many organizations to feed the homeless. One example: she serves 400 people at her annual Thanksgiving Feast in Queens.

For More Information

Faith Linsky