Horace Mann Call for Nominations


Antioch University New England students, faculty, alumni and staff, along with members of the greater Keene community, are invited to submit nominations in three categories for the 2013 AUNE Horace Mann Spirit of Service Awards.

The awards are named for the first president of Antioch College, noted abolitionist and educator Horace Mann, to recognize individuals who have won victories for humanity through their work or volunteerism. 

The Horace Mann Spirit of Service Awards represent the selfless labor of extraordinary women and men who seek no reward except to improve the lives of others.  Their victories may be large or small, local or global in scope.  In honoring their efforts, we demonstrate our commitment to public service and appreciation for those who believe in, and work for, community engagement, diversity, lifelong learning, sustainability, and social justice.

Three outstanding individuals will receive the 2013 Horace Mann Spirit of Service awards: one AUNE graduate, one member of the faculty or staff, and one community citizen.  We invite you to use the form below to nominate individuals who meet these criteria and help us honor their achievements.  You may nominate more than one person; please use a separate form for each nomination.

Past Horace Mann Award Recipients

Citizen’s Award
2011 Honoree: Juliana Eades, Founder and President of the New Hampshire Community Loan Fund.
2012 Honoree: Charlton MacVeagh, retired banking industry executive, philanthropist, community volunteer and AUNE trustee.

Faculty/Staff Award
2011 Honoree: Gargi Roysircar-Sodowsky, AUNE Core Faculty in Clinical Psychology and Founding Director of AUNE’s Multicultural Center for Research and Practice and Disaster Shakti, leading student teams to work with disaster survivors all over the world.
2012 Honoree: Shelley Viles ’92, founder and director of the Center for Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD) and the ASD Certificate program at AUNE.

AUNE Alumnus Award
2011 Honoree: Jim Craiglow ’77, past President of AUNE, for his dedicated service as President of the Stonewall Farm board of directors, President of Monadnock Developmental Services board of directors, a member of the Monadnock United Way, and Chair of Keene’s Ashuelot River Park Advisory Commission.
2012 Honoree: Floyd W. Nease II, ’88, executive director of the Vermont Association for Mental Health, Addiction and Recovery

Selection Process:  All nominations received by the March 15th deadline will be reviewed by a Horace Mann Spirit of Service Awards committee, comprised of past award recipients and community members. The honorees will be selected by mid-April.  The awards will be presented at the 3rd Annual Horace Mann Spirit of Service Awards dinner on Friday, September 20th, 2013.  Net proceeds from the event benefit the AUNE scholarship fund, enabling more deserving and committed students to complete an Antioch University New England education.

2013 Horace Mann Spirit of Service Awards Nomination Form

  • My contact information (this is optional, but it may be helpful if the committee has any questions or needs more information about your nominee):
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.